Awards Programs 

The Call for Nominations for the EAS Student Apiculture award deadline has been extended to May 31, 2014. The nominations for the Hambleton, Morse, and Divelbiss Awards have closed. 

The James I. Hambleton Memorial Award was established by the Eastern Apicultural Society of North America to recognize research excellence in apiculture. 

The EAS Student Apiculture award was established to recognize students studying apiculture at the undergraduate or graduate level in a recognized college or university in the United States or Canada. 

The Hambleton and Student award nominations must include a biographical sketch of the nominee, a list of his/her publications, specific identification of the research work on which the nomination is based and an evaluation and appraisal of the accomplishment of the nominee, especially of work in the last five-year period for Hambleton award nominees (or a shorter period for Student nominees). Two letters of recommendation supporting the nomination are also required. 

The Roger A. Morse Outstanding Teaching/Extension Service/Regulatory Award Supported by Anita Weiss Foundation is given annually to recognize an individual in teaching/extension and/or regulatory activity in the field of apiculture. Nominations for this award are welcome from any person in the field of apiculture or may be self-nominating. Nominations shall consist of a letter documenting the achievement of excellence in any or all of the areas of teaching/extension and /or regulatory activities in apiculture. Some indication of the appointment responsibilities should be included. In addition, a suitable CV or resume documenting the activities of the nominee must be submitted.


The Divelbiss Award is given to that person, or husband-wife team, who has—over a period of years—reached the non-beekeeping public to teach about the values of honey bees in our lives. Anyone may nominate someone, not necessarily from their own state. Local and state organizations may wish to publish nomination information in their newsletters. To nominate a candidate, write a letter outlining what the candidate has done in reaching the non-beekeeping public. Scouts, 4-H, school groups, media interviews, community organizations, Lions, Garden Clubs, county and state fairs, etc., all qualify as non-beekeeping public. The letter may also include the teaching of beekeepers’ Short Courses and other instructional work toward educating beekeepers and prospective beekeepers. The nominee does not need to be a member of EAS (but we’d be delighted if he/she would join). The deadline for the Divelbiss Award nomination is April 15, 2014.

Nominations are now being accepted for all four awards. The awards for 2014 will be presented at the annual conference of the Society at Richmond, Kentucky, July 28–August 1, 2014. Nominations and letters of recommendation should be emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and be received no later than April 1, 2014 for the Hambleton, Student, and Morse Awards. The deadline for the Divelbiss Award is April 15, 2014.



























Our Mission Is:
Education and Conferences,
Master Beekeeper Certification,
Honey Bee Research Grants